Chicago’s 100th Annual Christmas Tree Lighting

11 12 2013

This year Chicago lit it’s 100th annual Christmas tree. No longer in Grant Park where the original was lit, this year’s tree was came to light surrounded by the German style Christkindlemarket in Daly Plaza

0113.chi.ev.TreeLighting01

I have attended the Christkindlemarket for years, even a few times before living in Chicago. I have never seen it so packed. There were points while trying to get around the festival that I literally couldn’t move. I arrived about 15 minutes before the official beginning of the entertainment and there was no way I was going to get in range for shooting the stage. The city didn’t help the congestion with a bottleneck blockade, intended to keep people from drinking alcohol beyond a certain point. I’m not sure if it helped with the drinking but it certainly made navigating the market much worse. People were in less than festive moods and I heard many expletives. The strangest part about the bottleneck blockade, when I returned to the market a few days later with my parents, it was gone! With all the extras (Joffery Balley, Rudolph on Broadway, Mayor Rahm talking, etc) the market was much more enjoyable. When I attended with my parents it was still busy, but it wasn’t unbearably packed like the extravaganza night was. It’s a lovely little European style market. The market will get you in the holiday mood pretty quick, not to mention fill you with warm fuzzy feelings, which might also come from the tasty mulled wine in collector mugs…

For more photos check out my SLIDE SHOW on Time Out Chicago .com!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

