New York – An Overview

18 06 2013

 

 

 

 

 

Andy and I went to New York for a week in the end of May. The main reason being my brother graduating from Columbia University. The second reason being my best friend lives in Highlands, NJ just south of NYC. We had rainy, dreary weather most of the time we were in the city. We didn’t let that stop us from having adventures and I certainly didn’t let it stop me from taking photos! It did put a damper on how many photos I could take, but I’m still happy with the ones I got.

BYW_2266

I was skeptical about liking New York. Most people told me that if I liked Chicago, I would not like New York. Well here’s the deal, I like Chicago. I loved New York. If it weren’t so bloody expensive I might just try to move there. Their parks were way better. People weren’t rude, grouchy or mean like rumors allude to (except for one jerk at the bus terminal, but hey everywhere has some scum bags!). There are food trucks of deliciousness everywhere. The areas that I visited didn’t seem to have the weird sectioning of “only businesses” and “only residential” like Chicago has, it was relatively more integrated. And did I mention the parks were way better!?

BYW_2321

We spent the nights at my friend Steph’s house in Highlands, NJ. So the first three days of the trip, which we spent in NYC with my family, we commuted in. The bus tickets were $31 round trip, each. This is still way cheaper than a hotel in NYC for a night. The commuter buses were like Greyhound buses (or MegaBus buses) with big comfy seats and a little restroom in the back about %50 of the time. The fourth, fifth and sixth days of the trip we spent in NJ. We explored Sandy Hook National Park, the State Forest that is literally their back yard, Twin Lights historic site, as well as enjoyed some local businesses. On the seventh day of the trip we took the Sea Streak Ferry back into the city, this time with Steph to explore. The Ferry was fun, chilly and more expensive than the bus, but definitely worth it for one of the treks. The views were beautiful, and there was a bar on board!

BYW_2369

 

Overall, a wonderful trip. It was not too expensive either. We could do it again next year… maybe, but again sometime for sure.

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 06 2013
lawyer medical malpractice

Thanks for your marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading
it, you may be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and
will eventually come back down the road. I want to encourage
that you continue your great job, have a nice evening!

15 07 2013
binary options

Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective.
A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appearance. I must say that you’ve
done a very good job with this. Also, the blog loads super quick for me on Chrome.
Superb Blog!

Leave a Reply

