Glenwood Ave Arts Fest 2011

3 09 2011

I know this post is a little over due. I’ve been working and job hunting, and even went on a little over night exertion to Starved Rock State Park, but more on that later!

The Glenwood Ave Arts Fest is still the best art fest I’ve been to in Chicago. I have been to a lot of the free festivals too! What makes the Glenwood Festival better, for me at least, is the diversity and variety of options it offers. This year, I watched the performance of a traditional Uzbekistan wedding dance, a bluegrass band, a ska band, and a magic circus band, among many other performances!

As for the art available for purchase and to view, there was everything from your typical beaded jewelry and crochet baby hats to “say what you REALLY mean” cards and air plant terrariums. I may be a little bias toward the ‘say what you really mean’ cards, since my friends at Iron Woman Cards are the ones to make them. The cards really are hilarious though.

The Glenwood festival offers more than just artists sitting at booths, there are also open studios!  Local artists invite you into their work spaces to see finished and in-progress works. These works vary from paintings and drawings to elaborate sculptures and multimedia exhibitions.  There is also the B1E sculpture garden. The garden is there year round, but spruced up with new sights for the festival.

Evil Squirrel Comic shop had illustrator Brian J. Crowley, in house painting mini paintings for a dollar each. The shop also had a variety of specials on all things comic, from books to collector items.

The local shops offer a variety of foods, JB Alberto’s pizzeria had a separate stand out on the street serving up pizza by the slice. All of the restaurants along the streets had their doors open, and specials running. Red Line Tap had a 312 Tap truck with a few choices of beer. You’re actually allowed to wander the festival and sip your beer at the Glenwood Arts festival, unlike most Chicago festivals who don’t allow drinks on the streets.

I really enjoyed watching Deal’s Gone Bad (local Ska band, gone national) and Environmental Encroachment play. I even bought an EE shirt and CD. I have seen them play three times now, and always love it. Deal’s Gone Bad I had only seen once before, they opened for my Michigan Ska love Mustard Plug awhile ago. They were excellent! Unfortunately my local favorites the Mudflapps played at the same time as EE, so I only caught their last song, but they play in the neighborhood frequently, so hopefully I can catch them again soon when I don’t have to work super early the next morning!

For more photos check out my slide show on Time Out Chicago dot com!!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

